© 2023 by the Central Massachusetts Section of the American Chemical Society. Proudly created with Wix.com

Dear Colleague, We regret that due to the COVID-19 epidemic we must cancel the April 7 meeting of the Central Massachusetts Section of the ACS. Our host, the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, is discouraging all nonessential events on campus; this may become a ban in the near future. We hope to reschedule the meeting for a later time, likely in the early fall, when, one hopes, the epidemic will have subsided. Dr. Derek Lowe has graciously agreed to speak to us at that time. Sincerely,

Ioannis Papayannopoulos


Dear Colleague,

This is a reminder to register as soon as possible for the upcoming CMSACS meeting on April 7 at WPI. For details (more to be added soon) visit the section's website; The registration page is here.

At the meeting CMSACS members will have the opportunity to vote for the section's new bylaws, which were approved by the Executive Committee on 9/24/2019 and which have since been posted on the CMSACS website.

We are also finalizing the details for the new initiative to provide travel grants to undergraduate students (and to graduate students with no other funding sources) of colleges and universities in the area served by the Central Massachusetts section, who will be attending either the ACS national or the Northeast Regional meeting to present their research (poster or oral). We expect to roll this out in time for the national ACS meeting in August and the Northeast Regional meeting in October.


Ioannis Papayannopoulos CMSACS Chair

Dear Colleague,

We are pleased to announce that registration for the April 7 meeting of the Central Massachusetts section of the ACS is now open; please follow this link to register.

The meeting will be hosted by the Chemistry Department of the Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). It will start at 6 pm with social hour with food and drinks, followed by the conduct of section business at 7 and will feature a talk by Dr. Derek Lowe at 7:30. Please register as soon as possible, the WPI catering services need to be notified of the number of attendees by mid-March.

Derek Lowe, our speaker, is a medicinal chemist who has been working in preclinical drug discovery in the pharmaceutical industry for several decades. He is also the author of the popular blog "In the Pipeline", in which since 2002 he has been discussing all aspects of chemistry, biochemistry, and drug discovery.

In addition to his publications in scientific journals he is the author of "The Chemistry Book: From Gunpowder to Graphene, 250 Milestones in the History of Chemistry", serves on the editorial board of ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters and on the advisory board of Chemical & Engineering News and is a columnist for the Royal Society of Chemistry publication Chemistry World.

We look forward to seeing you in April.

Best regards,

Ioannis Papayannopoulos, CMSACS Chair